BMBF Project "Wear simulation of knee implants and shape optimization for patient-group specific wear minimization" (SOAK) - Subproject 3

start of the project: 07/2013 , end of the project: 06/2016

contract number: 05M2013

funding institution:

BMBF

project members

principal investigator

Prof. Dr. Anton Schiela

project members

M.Sc. Georg Müller

external project members

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kornhuber (FU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Oliver Sander (RWTH Aachen),

Dr. Martin Weiser (Zuse Institute Berlin)

Industry partners

aap Implantate AG, Questmed GmbH

aims of the project

For the market admittance of joint implants, a standardized wear test has to be performed. During the design phase, similar tests are necessary as well. Those tests are very cost and time expensive. The project aims at the development of simulation and optimization methods for substituting some of the design phase tests by simulations. Additionally, the design process shall be accelerated by shape optimization, and the offered implants be tailored to the patient population by taking different patient groups into account.

The project is conducted jointly by the partners FU Berlin, RWTH Aachen, University of Bayreuth und Zuse Institute Berlin.

Optimization of the Implant

In the optimization of the implant form, there is a dynamical contact problem as a constraint, which model the movement of the knee. The underlying mathematical problem is time dependent and defined on a complex three dimensional geometry. Since contact problems are modelled by variational inequalities rather than equations, the contraints are non-smooth.

The focus of this sub-project is on the development of an efficient algorithm for this kind of optimization problem. Within the total project we plan to use this algorithm together with the refined model for various optimization tasks.

Chair -

|  University of Bayreuth -

flag-en English

BMBF-Projekt "Simulation des Abriebs von Knieimplantaten und Optimierung der Form zur patientengruppenspezifischen Abriebminimierung" (SOAK) - Teilprojekt 3

Projektstart: 07/2013 , Projektende: 06/2016

Projektnummer: 05M2013

Geldgeber:

BMBF

Projektbeteiligte

Projektleiter

Prof. Dr. Anton Schiela

Projektmitglieder

M.Sc. Georg Müller

Externe Partner

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kornhuber (FU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Oliver Sander (RWTH Aachen),

Dr. Martin Weiser (Zuse-Institut Berlin)

Industriepartner

aap Implantate AG, Questmed GmbH

Projektbeschreibung

Für die Zulassung von Implantaten muss für diese ein standardisierter Abriebtest durchgeführt werden. Während der Entwicklung sind entsprechende Tests ebenfalls erforderlich. Diese Tests sind sehr zeit- und kostenintensiv. Das Projekt zielt darauf, Simulations- und Optimierungsmethoden zu entwickeln, mit denen ein Teil der Tests während der Entwicklung durch Simulationen ersetzt werden kann. Zudem soll durch Formoptimierung die Entwicklung beschleunigt und durch die Berücksichtigung unterschiedlicher Patientengruppen eine bessere Anpassung der Modellpalette auf die Patientenpopulation ermöglicht werden.

Das Projekt wird gemeinsam von den Partnern FU Berlin, RWTH Aachen, Universität Bayreuth und Zuse Institut Berlin durchgeführt.

Optimierung der Implantatform

Bei der Optimierung der Implantatform tritt als Nebenbedingung ein dynamisches Kontaktproblem auf, das die Bewegung des Knies modelliert. Das zugrunde liegende mathematische Problem ist zeitabhängig und auf einer komplexen dreidimensionalen Geometrie definiert. Da Kontaktprobleme nicht durch Gleichungen sondern über Variationsungleichungen modelliert werden, sind die Nebenbedingungen nichtglatt.

Der Schwerpunkt dieses Arbeitspaketes soll in der Entwicklung eines effizienten Algorithmus für diese Art von Optimierungsproblem liegen. Innerhalb des Gesamtprojektes soll der Algorithmus dann zusammen mit den verfeinerten Modellen sowohl zur Optimierung der Implantatform, als auch zur Schätzung unbekannter Materialparameter benutzt werden.