DFG Project "Specialized Adaptive Algorithms for Model Predictive Control of PDEs"

start of the project: 2017 , end of the project: 2019

contract number: GR 1569/17-1, SCHI 1379/5-1

funding institution:

DFG (Research Grant)

project members

principal investigator

Prof. Dr. Lars Grüne, Prof. Dr. Anton Schiela

project members

M.Sc. Manuel Schaller

aims of the project

Model Predictive Control is a control method in which the solution of optimal control problems on infinite or indefinitely long horizons is split up into the successive solution of optimal control problems on relatively short finite time horizons. Only the first piece of each optimal control is then used in order to synthesize the resulting control function on the infinite horizon. Under suitable conditions, this method can be shown to produce approximately optimal control functions on the infinite horizon. Moreover, due to the successive re-optimization the resulting control is of a feedback type form which provides robustness against model errors and perturbations.

Since only the first piece of each optimal control function is used, one can expect that for its numerical computation a high accuracy is only needed at the beginning of the optimization interval while a lower accuracy is sufficient towards its end. The main objective of the proposed project is the construction of numerical algorithms for model predictive control of parabolic partial differential equations which exploit this fact via goal oriented error estimation and adaptivity.

The grids, constructed by our algorithm, will reflect the sensitivity of the computed optimal control at the beginning of the control interval with respect to perturbations of the dynamics. We expect that we will obtain a relatively fine discretization near the beginning of the control interval that blends into coarser and coarser discretizations towards the end of this interval. Of course, previous grids are reused as the time-horizon moves on. This will result in an efficient overall method for model predictive control of parabolic PDEs that obtains a near optimal infinite horizon performance with low computational effort.

Our strategy is to first establish our method for ODEs and then move on to linear and non-linear parabolic PDEs. The algorithmic development will be combined with theoretical investigations on the sensitivity of the first piece of the optimal control with respect to perturbations of the dynamics. Particularly, we will derive conditions under which we can rigorously prove that the sensitivity of the optimal control decreases over time. This will create a deeper understanding of the newly created algorithms and identify classes of problems for which these algorithms can be applied.

For further information see the information page on the project.

Chair -

|  University of Bayreuth -

flag-en English

DFG-Projekt "Spezialisierte adaptive Algorithmen für die Modellprädiktive Regelung von PDEs"

Projektstart: 2017 , Projektende: 2020

Projektnummer: GR 1569/17-1, SCHI 1379/5-1

Geldgeber:

DFG (Sachbeihilfe)

Projektbeteiligte

Projektleiter

Prof. Dr. Anton Schiela, Prof. Dr. Lars Grüne

Projektmitglieder

M. Sc. Manuel Schaller

Projektbeschreibung

Die Modellprädiktive Regelung ist eine Kontrollmethode, in der die Lösung eines optimalen Steuerungsproblems auf unendlichem oder unbestimmt langem Zeithorizont aufgeteilt wird in die sukzessive Lösung von Optimalsteuerungsproblemen auf relativ kurzen endlichen Zeithorizonten. Nur das erste Stück jeder optimalen Steuerung wird dann verwendet, um die Kontrollfunktion für den unendlichen Zeithorizont zu konstruieren. Unter geeigneten Bedingungen kann man beweisen, dass dieses Vorgehen approximativ optimale Kontrollfunktionen auf unendlichem Zeithorizont liefert. Darüberhinaus liegt die entstehende Kontrolle wegen der sukzessiven Reoptimierung in Feedbackform vor, wodurch deren Konstruktion robust gegenüber Modellfehlern und Störungen wird.

Da nur das erste Stück jeder optimalen Kontrollfunktion verwendet wird, ist zu erwarten, dass zu dessen numerischer Berechnung nur zu Beginn des Optimierungsintervalls mit hoher Genauigkeit gerechnet werden muss, während zum Ende des Intervalls eine niedrigere Genauigkeit ausreicht. Das Hauptziel dieses Antrags ist daher die Entwicklung numerischer Algorithmen für die Modellprädiktive Regelung parabolischer partieller Differentialgleichungen, die diese Tatsache mittels zielorientierter Fehlerschätzung und Adaptivität nutzen.

Die von unserem Algorithmus erzeugten Gitter werden die Sensitivität der berechneten Optimallösung auf dem Anfangsstück des Kontrollintervalls bezüglich der Störungen in der Dynamik widerspiegeln. Wir erwarten, dass wir eine relativ feine Diskretisierung zu Beginn des Optimierungsintervalls erhalten, die nach und nach in eine immer gröbere Diskretisierung am Ende des Intervalls übergeht. Selbstverständlich werden dabei die bereits erzeugten Gitter in der nachfolgenden Optimierung auf verschobenem Zeithorizont wiederverwertet. Insgesamt erhalten wir so eine effiziente numerische Methode für die Modellprädiktive Regelung parabolischer PDEs, die mit geringem Rechenaufwand approximativ optimale Kontrollfunktionen auf unendlichem Zeithorizont liefert.

Unsere Strategie ist, diese Methode zunächst für gewöhnliche Differentialgleichungen zu entwickeln und dann zu linearen und nichtlinearen parabolischen PDEs überzugehen. Die Entwicklung der Algorithmen wird kombiniert mit theoretischen Untersuchungen der Sensitivität des Anfangsstücks der optimalen Steuerung bezüglich Störungen in der Dynamik. Insbesondere werden wir Bedingungen herleiten, unter denen rigoros bewiesen werden kann, dass diese Sensitivität mit fortschreitender Zeit abnimmt. Dies wird zum tieferen Verständnis der zu entwickelnden Algorithmen beitragen und Klassen von Problemen identifizieren, auf welche diese Algorithmen angewendet werden können.

Weitere Informationen finden sich unter der Informationsseite zum Projekts.